Coming to the Stacks: May 2018

Paranormal/Sci Fi

Jordanian-American journalist and media development professional Natasha Tynes‘s THEY CALLED ME WYATT, when a Jordanian student is murdered on her birthday, her consciousness survives, finding refuge in the body of a baby boy in Seattle; 22 years later, that baby boy has grown into a young man, Wyatt, who becomes fixated on investigating Siwar’s death, to Robert Peterson at California Coldblood, for publication in Spring 2019 (world English).

SEMIOSIS author Sue Burke‘s SEMIOSIS: PAX, in which Earth sends new emissaries to the planet Pax, the planet where plants are the dominant intelligent species, and an untitled novel about perfect human clones and their struggle to fit into an imperfect world, to Jennifer Gunnels at Tor, in a nice deal, in a two-book deal, by Jennie Goloboy at Donald Maass Literary Agency (world).

NYT bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series, as well as the Court of Thorns and Roses series Sarah J. Maas‘s CRESCENT CITY, her first series for adults, set in a world where humans struggle to survive amid intricate hierarchies of demons, shifters, angels, and countless other magical creatures, it tells the story of a half-human, half-Sidhe who joins forces with a powerful warrior-angel to hunt down her best friend’s killer, leading them toward a treacherous enemy that could destroy the fabric of their world, to Cindy Loh at Bloomsbury Children’s, in a three-book deal, for publication in last 2019, by Tamar Rydzinski at Laura Dail Literary Agency (world English).

Isabel Cooper‘s epic fantasy romance series, pitched in the vein of Amanda Bouchet meets The Witcher, where a society of lady monster hunters and their soul swords are the last true defense against a Traitor God hell-bent on swallowing the world in shadow, to Mary Altman at Sourcebooks, in a three-book deal, by Jessica Watterson at Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency (world).

_______________________________________________________________________

Mystery/Crime

Author of MADHOUSE FOG and OCCUPY PYNCHON Sean Carswell‘s DEAD EXTRA, a classic 1940s L.A. noir novel involving dirty cops, B-movie script girls, alcoholic screenwriters, a women’s mental hospital, blackmailing dirty-movie-makers, and a lousy former cop who was presumed dead in WWII but is very much alive, to Colleen Dunn Bates at Prospect Park Books, in a nice deal, for publication in Spring 2019 (world).

NYT bestseller Nevada Barr‘s stand-alone crime novel about a woman in her sixties who emerges from a mental fog to find that she’s trapped in her worst nightmare — someone has systemically drugging her and committed her to an Alzheimer’s Unit in a nursing home, to Keith Kahla at Minotaur, by Dominick Abel at Dominick Abel Associates (NA).

Maggie Robinson‘s NOBODY’S SWEETHEART NOW, the fIrst Lady Adelaide 1920s-era cozy mystery, where a widowed marquess’ daughter must solve a death at her dinner party with the help of an Anglo-Indian police inspector…and the ghost of her late and unlamented husband, to Barbara Peters at Poisoned Pen Press, by Laura Bradford at Bradford Literary Agency (world English).

Translation: Taryn Fagerness at Taryn Fagerness Agency

Author of CLASS REUNIONS ARE MURDER Libby Klein‘s next two books in the Poppy McAllister series, including THEATER NIGHTS ARE MURDER, in which Poppy solves a murder during the senior center’s production of Mamma Mia, to John Scognamiglio at Kensington, in a two-book deal, by Annie Bomke at Annie Bomke Literary Agency.

_______________________________________________________________________

Woman’s Fiction/Romance

NYT bestselling author of the Pink Carnation series and THE ENGLISH WIFE Lauren Willig‘s sweeping historical novel set in colonial Barbados, to Rachel Kahan at William Morrow, for publication in Summer 2019, by Alexandra Machinist at ICM (world English).

Lindsay Emory‘s THE ROYAL RUNAWAY, pitched for fans of The Princess Diaries and The Royal We, about a modern-day princess who teams up with a spy to find out what happened to the fiance who left her at the altar—and who just might get her own fairy tale in the process, to Marla Daniels at Gallery, with Molly Gregory editing, and to Kate Byrne at Headline Eternal, for publication October 2018, by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency (US).

Natalie Cox‘s MUTTS AND MISTLETOE, a romantic comedy pitched as “if Bridget Jones were set at a doggy day care center during the holiday season,” to Margo Lipschultz at Putnam, for publication in Fall 2018, by Kim Witherspoon and Jessica Mileo at Inkwell Management on behalf of Felicity Rubinstein at Lutyens & Rubinstein (NA).

RITA Award finalist Marta Perry‘s UNDER SUSPICION, the first book in a thriller series starring three women who’ve been close friends since attending a small Amish school together; old towns and old families can hide dangerous secrets and as each woman finds out, sometimes love and friendship are the only weapons worth having when danger threatens, to Allison Carroll at Harlequin, in a three-book deal, by Danielle Egan-Miller at Browne & Miller Literary Associates (world).

_______________________________________________________________________

Audio

World Fantasy Award nominee Tamsyn Muir‘s GIDEON THE NINTH AND TWO SEQUELS, a debut epic science fantasy trilogy, to Brian Sweany at Recorded Books, in a pre-empt, in a three-book deal, by Jennifer Jackson at Donald Maass Literary Agency (world English).

NYT bestselling author Elizabeth George‘s DECEPTION ON HIS MINDIN PURSUIT OF THE PROPER SINNERA TRAITOR TO MEMORYA PLACE OF HIDING, to Amy Metsch at Penguin Random House Audio, by Mark Gottlieb at Trident Media Group on behalf of Robert Gottlieb (NA).

Ben Reeder‘s THE DEMON’S APPRENTICE, in which a teenager adjusting to his newly won freedom, having escaped years of enslavement by a demon, must solve the murder of a new friend and mentor, to Addi Black at Blackstone Audio, in a nice deal, for publication in the summer of 2018, by Trodayne Northern at Prentis Literary.

USA Today bestselling author Sara Ney‘s KISS AND MAKE UP series, to Jannah McCowan at Tantor Media, in a three-book deal, by Kimberly Brower at Brower Literary & Management.

_______________________________________________________________________

Film/Television

Author of THE ART OF US Teri Wilson‘s MARRYING MR. DARCY, the sequel to UNLEASHING MR. DARCY, a modern day spin on Pride and Prejudice, to Howard Braunstein Films/Sydell Albert Productions for the Hallmark Channel, by Elizabeth Winick Rubinstein at McIntosh & Otis.

Author of the Ash McKenna PI series Rob Hart‘s THE WAREHOUSE, to Brian Grazer at Imagine Entertainment, with Ron Howard attached to direct, in a major deal, at auction, by Lucy Stille at APA on behalf of Josh Getzler at Hannigan Salky Getzler Agency.

J.R. Rain‘s THE VAMPIRE FOR HIRE (Samantha Moon) Series, optioned to Sony with Davis Entertainment, by Joel Gotler of Intellectual Property Group on behalf of Andrew Stuart of The Stuart Agency.

Julie James’s THE THING ABOUT LOVE, about rival FBI agents forced to work undercover on a case, optioned by CBS Studios for TV with Tribeca Productions attached as producer, by Elizabeth Newman at CAA on behalf of Robin Rue at Writers House.

Source

Leave a Reply