Bram Stoker Award Winners Announced

The winners of the Bram Stoker Awards were announced on May 10 at the World Horror Convention in Atlanta, Georgia.


Named after the author of the quintessential horror novel, Dracula, the awards are overseen by the Horror Writers Association, a “nonprofit organization of writers and publishing professionals around the world, dedicated to promoting dark literature and the interests of those who write it.”  Founded in 1985, the foundation has been handing out awards since 1987.

The winners of the 2014 Bram Stoker Awards are:

Superior Achievement in a NovelBlood Kin by Steven Rasnic Tem

Superior Achievement in a First NovelMr. Wicker by Maria Alexander

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult NovelPhoenix Island by John Dixon

Superior Achievement in a Graphic NovelBad Blood by Jonathan Maberry

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction – “Fishing for Dinosaurs” (Limbus, Inc., Book II) by Joe R. Lansdale

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction – TIE:  “The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family” (Qualia Nous) by Usman T. Malik and “Ruminations” (Qualia Nous) by Rena Mason

Superior Achievement in a ScreenplayThe Babadook by Jennifer Kent

Superior Achievement in an AnthologyFearful Symmetries, edited by Ellen Datlow

Superior Achievement in a Fiction CollectionSoft Apocalypses by Lucy A. Snyder

Superior Achievement in Non-FictionShooting Yourself in the Head For Fun and Profit: A Writer’s Survival Guide by Lucy A. Snyder

Superior Achievement in a Poetry CollectionForgiving Judas by Tom Piccirilli

Lifetime Achievement – Jack Ketchum and Tanith Lee

Congratulations to all!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.