LitStack

for the love of all things wordy

Home /
Angry Robot Acquires World Right for Susan Murray’s ‘The Waterborne Blade’
;

Angry Robot Acquires World Right for Susan Murray’s ‘The Waterborne Blade’

Angry Robot has acquired World Rights for Susan Murray’s The Waterborne Blade (October 2014), “the opening volume of an intriguing medieval fantasy series for fans of Trudi Canavan, Karen Miller and Gail Z Martin.” This is Murray’s debut novel and concerns “an exiled queen [who] must protect her unborn child during a civil war by […]

murry

Angry Robot has acquired World Rights for Susan Murray’s The Waterborne Blade (October murry2014), “the opening volume of an intriguing medieval fantasy series for fans of Trudi Canavan, Karen Miller and Gail Z Martin.”

This is Murray’s debut novel and concerns “an exiled queen [who] must protect her unborn child during a civil war by drawing on dark powers she can neither understand nor control.” Also part of the acquisition is the untitled sequel that is scheduled to launch in the summer of 2015.

Of the deal, Murray said: “I’m thrilled to find myself working with the dynamic team at Angry Robot. With so many talented authors on their list I imagined my novel’s chances of acceptance lay somewhere between slim and none. Never have I been more happy to be wrong.”

About The Waterborne Blade:

The citadel has long been the stronghold of Highkell. All that is about to change because the traitor, Vasic, is marching on the capital. Against her better judgement, Queen Alwenna allows herself to be spirited away by one of the Crown’s most trusted servants, safe from the clutches of the throne’s would-be usurper.

Fleeing across country, she quickly comes to learn that her pampered existence has ill-equipped her for survival away from the comforts of the court. Alwenna must toughen up, and fast, if she is even to make it to a place of safety. But she has an even loftier aim – for after dreaming of her husband’s impending death, Alwenna knows she must turn around and head back to Highkell to save the land she loves, and the husband who adores her, or die in the attempt.

But Vasic the traitor is waiting. And this was all just as he planned.

Send Murray your congratulations on Twitter.

Source/Angry Robot Press Release