2016 British Fantasy Awards Shortlists Announced

The British Fantasy Society (an offshoot of the British Science Fiction Association) is an organization “dedicated to British Fantasy Assn logopromoting the best in the fantasy, science fiction and horror genres.”   On Monday, the Society  announced its nominees for the 2016 British Fantasy Awards.

The nominees include:


  • African Monsters, edited by Margrét Helgadóttir and Jo Thomas
  • Aickman’s Heirs, edited by Simon Strantzas
  • Best British Horror 2015, edited by Johnny Mains
  • The Doll Collection, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • The 2nd Spectral Book of Horror Stories, edited by Mark Morris



  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Julie Dillon
  • Evelinn Enoksen
  • Sarah Anne Langton
  • Jeffrey Alan Love



  • Ghost Summer: Stories by Tananarive Due
  • Monsters by Paul Kane
  • Probably Monsters by Ray Cluley
  • Scar City by Joel Lane
  • Skein and Bone by V.H. Leslie
  • The Stars Seem So Far Away by Margrét Helgadóttir



  • Bitch Planet (# 2-5) by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Robert Wilson IV and Cris Peter
  • Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson, Jacob Wyatt and Adrian Alphona
  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
  • Red Sonja (#14–18) by Gail Simone and Walter Geovani
  • Saga (#25–32) by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  • The Sandman: Overture by Neil Gaiman, J.H. Williams III and Dave Stewart


BEST FANTASY NOVEL (Robert Holdstock Award)



  • Inside No. 9: The Trial of Elizabeth Gadge by Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton
  • Jessica Jones: AKA WWJD? by Scott Reynolds
  • Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Peter Harness
  • Mad Max: Fury Road by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy and Nico Lathouris
  • Midwinter of the Spirit by Stephen Volk
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens by Lawrence Kasdan, J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt


BEST HORROR NOVEL (August Derleth Award)

  • A Cold Silence by Alison Littlewood
  • The Death House by Sarah Pinborough
  • Lost Girl by Adam Nevill
  • Rawblood by Catriona Ward
  • The Silence by Tim Lebbon
  • Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor



  • The Alchemy Press, helmed by Peter Coleborn and Jan Edwards
  • Angry Robot, helmed by Marc Gascoigne
  • Fox Spirit Books, helmed by Adele Wearing
  • Newcon Press, helmed by Ian Whates



  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies, edited by Scott H. Andrews
  • Black Static, edited by Andy Cox
  • Holdfast Magazine, edited by Laurel Sills and Lucy Smee
  • Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
  • Strange Horizons, edited by Niall Harrison


BEST NEWCOMER (Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • Becky Chambers, for The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet
  • Zen Cho, for Sorcerer to the Crown
  • Peter Newman, for The Vagrant
  • Steven Poore, for The Heir to the North
  • Marc Turner, for When the Heavens Fall



  • The Art of Horror: An Illustrated History, edited by Stephen Jones
  • Fantasy-Faction, edited by Marc Aplin and Jennie Ivins
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror, edited by Jim Mcleod
  • King for a Year, edited by Mark West
  • Letters to Tiptree, edited by Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein
  • Matrilines by Kari Sperring



  • Albion Fay by Mark Morris
  • Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
  • The Bureau of Them by Cate Gardner
  • The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn by Usman T. Malik
  • Witches of Lytchford by Paul Cornell



  • “The Blue Room” by V.H. Leslie (Skein and Bone)
  • “Dirt Land” by Ralph Robert Moore (Black Static #49)
  • “Fabulous Beasts” by Priya Sharma (com)
  • “Hippocampus” by Adam Nevill (Terror Tales of the Ocean)
  • “Strange Creation” by Frances Kay (Tenebris Nyxies)
  • “When The Moon Man Knocks” by Cate Gardner (Black Static #48)


The winners will be announced on Sunday, September 25, at FantasyCon By the Sea 2016 to be held at Scarborough, North Yorkshire.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.