2015 British Fantasy Award Winners Announced

The winners of the 2015 British Fantasy Awards were announced on Sunday, 25 October 2015, at FantasyCon 2015, which was held in Nottingham, England.  Here is the full list of nominees and winners:


BEST FANTASY NOVEL (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • WINNER: Cuckoo Song, Frances HardingeBritish Fantasy Assn logo
  • Breed by KT Davies
  • City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett
  • A Man Lies Dreaming by Lavie Tidhar
  • The Moon King by Neil Williamson
  • The Relic Guild by Edward Cox


BEST HORROR NOVEL (the August Derleth Award)

  • WINNER: No One Gets Out Alive by Adam Nevill
  • The End by Gary McMahon
  • The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey
  • The Last Plague by Rich Hawkins
  • Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel
  • The Unquiet House by Alison Littlewood



  • WINNER: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
  • Cemetery Girl by Charlaine Harris, Christopher Golden and Don Kramer
  • Grandville Noël by Bryan Talbot
  • Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  • Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • The Wicked + The Divine by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie



  • WINNER: “Newspaper Heart” by Stephen Volk (The Spectral Book of Horror Stories)
  • Cold Turkey by Carole Johnstone
  • Drive by Mark West
  • “Water For Drowning” by Ray Cluley (This Is Horror)



  • WINNER: “A Woman’s Place” by Emma Newman (Two Hundred and Twenty-One Baker Streets)
  • “A Change of Heart” by Gaie Sebold (Wicked Women)
  • “The Girl on the Suicide Bridge” by J.A. Mains (Beside the Seaside)
  • “Ptichka” by Laura Mauro (Horror Uncut: Tales of Social Insecurity and Economic Unease)


BEST NEWCOMER (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • WINNER: Sarah Lotz for The Three
  • Edward Cox for The Relic Guild
  • Laura Mauro for “Ptichka” (Horror Uncut: Tales of Social Insecurity and Economic Unease)
  • Den Patrick for The Boy with the Porcelain Blade
  • Jen Williams for The Copper Promise



  • WINNER: Letters to Arkham: The Letters of Ramsey Campbell and August Derleth, 1961–1971, ed. S.T. Joshi
  • F. Lewis Dreamcatcher Real-Time Reviews by D.F. Lewis
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror, ed. Jim McLeod
  • Rhapsody: Notes on Strange Fictions by Hal Duncan
  • Sibilant Fricative: Essays & Reviews by Adam Roberts
  • Touchstones: Essays on the Fantastic by John Howard
  • You Are the Hero: A History of Fighting Fantasy Gamebooks by Jonathan Green



  • WINNER: Lightspeed: Women Destroy Science Fiction Special Issue, ed. Christie Yant
  • The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic 2, ed. Jan Edwards and Jenny Barber
  • Horror Uncut: Tales of Social Insecurity and Economic Unease, ed. by Joel Lane and Tom Johnstone
  • The Spectral Book of Horror Stories, ed. Mark Morris
  • Terror Tales of Wales, ed. Paul Finch



  • WINNER: Nick Nightmare Investigates by Adrian Cole
  • Black Gods Kiss by Lavie Tidhar
  • The Bright Day Is Done by Carole Johnstone
  • Gifts for the One Who Comes After by Helen Marshall
  • Scruffians! Stories of Better Sodomites by Hal Duncan



  • WINNER: Karla Ortiz (her cover art for Philippa Ballantine’s The Order of the Deacons is the header image for this article)
  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Les Edwards
  • Sarah Anne Langton
  • Daniele Serra



  • WINNER: Guardians of the Galaxy, screenplay by  James Gunn and Nicole Perlman
  • Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), screenplay by Alejandro González Iñárritu
  • Black Mirror: “White Christmas”, written by Charlie Brooker
  • Interstellar, screenplay by Christopher Nolan and Jonathan Nolan
  • Under the Skin, screenplay by Walter Campbell and Jonathan Glazer



  • WINNER: Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn and Jan Edwards)
  • NewCon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)



  • WINNER: Holdfast Magazine, ed. Laurel Sills and Lucy Smee
  • Black Static, ed. Andy Cox
  • Interzone, ed. by Andy Cox
  • Lightspeed, ed. John Joseph Adams
  • Sein und Werden, ed. Rachel Kendall


Also, the Karl Edward Wagner Special Award was given to Juliet E. McKenna (a British fantasy author, convention regular, writing instructor, and one of the authors behind “The Write Fantastic”, which is an initiative to promote the fantasy genre, and to display the scope of current fantasy writing).

Congratulations to all!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.