2014 Shirley Jackson Awards Nominees Announced

Shirley Jackson wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, Shirley Jacksonas well as the well known short story, “The Lottery.”  To honor the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, the juried Shirley Jackson Awards were established in 2007 to recognize outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The nominees for the 2014 Shirley Jackson Awards were announced last week.  They include:


  • Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer
  • Bird Box by Josh Malerman
  • Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes
  • Confessions by Kanae Minato
  • The Lesser Dead by Christopher Buehlman
  • The Unquiet House by Alison Littlewood


  • The Beauty by Aliya Whiteley
  • Ceremony of Flies by Kate Jonez
  • The Good Shabti by Robert Sharp
  • The Mothers of Voorhisville by Mary Rickert
  • We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory


  • “The Devil in America” by Kai Ashante Wilson (Tor.com, April 2014)
  • “The End of the End of Everything” by Dale Bailey (Tor.com, April 2014)
  • “The Husband Stitch” by Carmen Maria Machado (Granta)
  • “Newspaper Heart” by Stephen Volk (The Spectral Book of Horror Stories)
  • “Office at Night” by Kate Bernheimer and Laird Hunt (Walker Art Center)
  • “The Quiet Room” by V H Leslie (Shadows & Tall Trees 2014)


  • “Candy Girl” by Chikodili Emelumadu (Apex Magazine)
  • “The Dogs Home” by Alison Littlewood (The Spectral Book of Horror Stories)
  • “The Fisher Queen” by Alyssa Wong (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)
  • “Shay Corsham Worsted” by Garth Nix (Fearful Symmetries)
  • “Wendigo Nights” by Siobhan Carroll (Fearful Symmetries)


  • After the People Lights Have Gone Off by Stephen Graham Jones
  • Burnt Black Suns: A Collection of Weird Tales by Simon Strantzas
  • Gifts for the One Who Comes After by Helen Marshall
  • They Do The Same Things Different There by Robert Shearman
  • Unseaming by Mike Allen


  • Letters to Lovecraft, edited by Jesse Bullington
  • Fearful Symmetries, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • The Spectral Book of Horror Stories, edited by Mark Morris
  • Shadows & Tall Trees 2014, edited by Michael Kelly
  • The Children of Old Leech: A Tribute to the Carnivorous Cosmos of Laird Barron, edited by Ross E. Lockhart and Justin Steele

The award winners will be announced Sunday, July 12, 2015 at Readercon 26 in Burlington, Massachusetts.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.